Modern philosophy – the search for meaning, Van Halen style

Sometimes a song says things you can’t seem to articulate.  This has always been one of my favorites. No one knows where the search for truth and meaning will lead you.   Simply amazing.  Who would have thought…  Plato, Socrates, Descartes, Hume, Kant, Nietzsche, Van Halen 

Forgive me father, for I have sinned
I’ve been through hell and back again
I shook hands with the devil, looked him in the eye
Looked like a long lost friend

Anything you want, any dirty deeds
He’s got everything ‘cept what I really need
Keeping me temporarily satisfied
But not one thing I’ve tried
Filled me up inside or felt like mine

Mine all mine

Yeah, the search goes on
The more I look, my world keeps gettin’ smaller
Staring at the sun, searchin’ for the light
Almost ended up blind

Some only see what they wanna see, claiming victory,
Oh but that’s not me
Gimme truth, gimme somethin’ real
I just wanna feel like it’s mine, all mine

Ooh, really mine 
Come on, gimme somethin’
Somethin’ that’s mine, all mine

Mine all mine

All the words on the wall look the same in the mirror
Every riddle and every clue
You’ve got Allah in the east, you’ve got Jesus in the west
Christ, what’s a man to do?

They’ll find a cure for anything
Just kill the pain or numb my brain
We see a man speakin’ the word of God
Proving to be a fraud; his own church applauds

Stop looking out, start looking in
Be your own best friend
Stand up and say  
“Hey! This is mine!”  Ooh, all mine 

Yeah and baby you’ve got somethin’
And I got somethin’ 
Hey, and it’s mine, all mine.


Written by: Edward Van Halen, Sammy Hagar, Michael Anthony, Alex Van Halen.
1988 Yessup Music Company ASCAP. All Rights Reserved.

 

 

~ by brianherman on July 1, 2008.

4 Responses to “Modern philosophy – the search for meaning, Van Halen style”

  1. Speak the Word

    Jesus defeated satan in the wilderness by speaking the Word of God, He said, “Man shall not live by bread alone but by every word that proceedeth out of the mouth of God”. Don’t forget Jesus was very weak and hungry; He was at His lowest, that is when satan comes to you saying it is hopeless, you are finished, it is all over. My friend the devil is a liar. David the shepherd boy said,” God delivered me from the paw of the lion and the paw of the bear, surely He will deliver me from this uncircumcised Philistine {Goliath}.
    Surely God will deliver you from your problem, so, shout it out “SURELY GOD WILL DELIVER ME” The Bible says,” “Call upon me in the day of trouble and I will deliver you”.
    EVANGELIST BILLY BOLITHO
    http://www.evangelistbillybolitho.blogspot.com

  2. This has always been on of my favorite Van Halen songs, but recently the lyrics mean much more to me than before. I was raised in Christian household, but a lot of it never made much sense to me. Over the past couple of years, and after many debates with myself, I have decided that belief in God, any God that is, is ridiculous. I have decided, on my own, that I am an Atheist. I have found what is “Mine All Mine.”

    This is what the song means to me…

    Forgive me father For I have sinned
    I’ve been through hell and back again
    Shook hands with the devil
    Looked him in the eye
    Looked like a long lost friend
    Anything you want Any dirty deeds
    He’s got everything Except what I really need
    Keepin’ me temporarily satisfied
    But not one thing I tried Filled me up inside
    Or felt like mine

    At the start, the writer is in confession and obviously religious. He’s basically saying “I’ve done all the ‘sinful’ stuff, and I liked it for a while, but I’m still feelin a tad empty. This isn’t really MY thing, ya know?”

    Yeah, the search goes on
    But the more I look
    My world keeps getting smaller

    I’m trying, I’m looking in all this religious stuff for something that’ll be mine, something I can take away from it for myself, something to complete me. But the more I look, less and less of it makes sense. “My world,” my way of life that I’ve been taught my whole life is falling apart, becoming smaller, because the harder I look at it, the more I find myself rejecting it, and the more questions I have.

    Staring at the sun (Son?)
    Searchin’ for the light
    Almost ended up blind

    I really don’t know if the writer intended for “sun” to mean “son,” or Jesus, but it very possibly could. I think he means, “I’ve looked and looked for what’s supposed to be so great about this religion, about this “God.” I’ve tried to see what so many others see, (the light) and almost became a brainwashed scripture-vomiting robot. I almost became blind the the many things the religious person is: Logic, Reason, Thinking for yourself, etc.

    Some only see
    What they want to see
    Claiming victory
    Oh, but that’s not me

    I think this just refers to how close-minded religious types are. They tend to see the world the way they were taught to see it, and can’t seem to see it for what it is. They are quick to reject anything other than the way they see it, because the way they see it is the only correct way. “Oh, but that’s not me.” Damn skippy it’s not.

    Give me truth
    Give me something real
    I just want to feel
    Like it’s Mine, all mine

    Give me the truth, cause this religion stuff is B.S. Give me something real, something I can see for myself, something I don’t have to believe in blindly.

    All the words on the wall
    Look the same in the mirror
    Every riddle
    Every clue

    All of these religious texts, from all of these different religions, are basically the same crap.

    You got Allah in the east
    You got Jesus in the west
    Christ, what’s a man to do?

    These people believe one thing, and these other people believe something else. How am I supposed to know that one is correct? If one IS correct, then one has to be wrong. Maybe they’re all wrong?

    They’ll find a cure for anything
    Just kill the pain
    Numb my brain

    They’ll tell you that God can do anything!!! Any problem you have, God can fix it. But your ability to think rationally, for yourself, may be lost.

    We see a man Speaking the word of God
    Provin’ to be a fraud
    His own church applauds

    I think this goes along with “Some only see what they wanna see.” Many see church leaders as infallible. Even when they prove that they are just as human and full of flaws as anyone else, their church doesn’t care. They still hold them as high as they always did.

    Stop lookin’ out
    Start lookin’ in

    Stop looking for what makes others happy, or for what others tell you will make you happy, start looking within yourself. What do YOU want? What will make YOU happy? And when you find it…

    Be your own best friend
    Stand up and say
    Hey! This is mine

    Don’t let anyone shoot you down, be proud of it, don’t let anyone tell you that you’re wrong. It’s yours, you’ve found it for yourself, don’t let anyone take it from you.

    That’s what the song means to me.

  3. YOU found what?

    You’ve grossly over-analyzed this song to fit your dead end view. The logic you use to somehow deduce that there is no God is logic and reasoning given to you by the same God you claim doesn’t exist. There’s some irony.

    The fact that you feel it so necessary to actually come to this conclusion should make you pause and question why? Does a dog wonder why it barks? Does a bird wonder why it flies? No. But a human feels the need to speak of and ponder those things related to a God. Why? Because we were made in ‘his image’, each of us and if we listen, we can get a glimpse of who and what he is through ourselves. We just need “get out of the way of ourselves!” Your new found athesim is simply about control or better put, what you perceive as a lack of control.

    Since I don’t understand the universe and why I’m here then I’m going to regain control by convincing myself that there is no God. “There..I’m back in control.” When you fully have the answers for the meaning of life and the universe please let me know.

    Go read Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis.

    I’ve had your feelings..I understand your situation.

    If you want to discuss further…I’m at gb5150us@yahoo.com

    Respectfully
    Greg

  4. Okay. First of all, I haven’t “grossly over-analyzed” anything. I’m fairly certain that I said in my post that it is what the song MEANS TO ME. Not to you. Not to anyone else. Not to Sammy Hagar. To me. Is that okay with you?

    I find it humorous that you feel LACK of belief is a reason to ask why. If I told you that instead of a god, that I worshipped an invisible purple-haired troll that lives in my colon, and if I’m a good boy, he makes good things happen to me with his magic, wouldn’t you want to know why I believed such absurdities? What makes your beliefs any different? (besides colons not being involved)

    Does a dog wonder why it barks? Probably not. Does a bird wonder why it flies? I’d would think not. Does a dog or a bird base their lives on belief in a magic sky fairy, or perhaps the fear of burning for all eternity? Unlikely.

    “But a human feels the need to speak of and ponder those things related to a God. Why?”
    Why indeed. I personally don’t feel the the need to speak of or ponder such things. Neither do children. That is, until the silly idea is put in their heads.

    “Because we were made in ‘his image’, each of us and if we listen, we can get a glimpse of who and what he is through ourselves.”
    That statement is a little (a lot) vague. If we listen to what? It doesn’t matter how hard someone looks into his or her self, they’re only going to find God if the notion is already there.

    I especially like your next statement. ‘We just need “get out of the way of ourselves!”‘ I understand that as “Believe in this blindly, because any nasty thing like questions, thought, reason, etc, could very possibly make you see it for the fraud that it is.” That’s no way to live life riddle-man.

    I am so glad that YOU know what my newfound atheism is about, I was a little lost there!! (you arrogant ass) Though, I suppose you could say that it’s partly about control. I’d rather control my own life rather than put it in the hands of a figment of my imagination (like a colon troll).

    I’ll fully admit that I don’t understand the universe, nor do I claim to know why I’m here. But you know what? I’m okay with that. I didn’t reject belief in a god because I thought it’d give me all the answers. I don’t need all the answers. But if I did, I would you know, actually seek them out, not convince myself that some guy in the sky was responsible. I’ve looked inside myself. I’ve even argued with my self. And what I’ve found is far greater than belief in any god.

Leave a Reply

 
