Confessions of an Insomniac

Years ago before my kids were born, when I’d go through a spell where I couldn’t sleep I would get in the car and go for long drives at night.  I haven’t done it in years but I decided to give it a try tonight.  Frankly I was a bit worried that Sandy would wake up when the garage door opened and worry about what was going on, so I kept tonight’s trip short.

It’s a pretty night tonight.  65 degrees, a few clouds, a few stars, and a big bright moon.  I had the top down on the Mini and zipped around some of my favorite curvy roads on the edge of town.  Now I’ll admit, the real reason for heading out was that I could find no good ice cream in the house, but once I was on the road I was reminded of how much those drives from years ago would help me unwind and find peace for sleeping.

Tonight was just perfect, crisp clean air, no one out at all, heavenly really.  My iPod was a good companion, opening up with some Tears for Fears and a little Chris Issak, but as I was settling in on a nice mellow up popped Tenacious D‘s “The Metal“.  That was like taking a Red Bull direct to the veins.  Once I got over the shock of it I had a pretty good laugh and headed over to Safeway and grabbed a pint of Ben & Jerry’s.  

Oh well, back to the computer.

I\'m not sleeping!

~ by brianherman on May 21, 2008.

2 Responses to “Confessions of an Insomniac”

  1. You live in a great place for late night drives, too. The summer I lived in Longmont I spent most evenings with the windows down and the radio up, cruising all those wide open roads. Night driving is one of the better small pleasures.

  2. And there is quite nothing like a healthy respect for the D!

Leave a Reply

 
