Turn off my TV? Maybe for a while…

I’m debating the merits of the Center for SCREEN-TIME Awareness’ Turnoff [the TV/Computer] Week… not sure I agree.

Why Turn off the TV?
Television cuts into family time, harms our children’s ability to read and succeed in school, and contributes to unhealthy lifestyles and obesity
… Turning off the television gives us a chance to think, read, create, and do. To connect with our families and engage in our communities. To turn off TV and turn on life.

Do you suppose there was a Center for cave-wall-time awareness? I can hear the cave-parents now… “Zog, u stop make cave picture. Go play rock.” 

I’m torn about this idea… we plan to participate and I guess we’ll see how it goes but we quickly had to make some exceptions. “We won’t watch TV… unless the Avs are on… And Daddy still has to be on the computer 18 hours a day, so he’s exempt, but everyone else has to cut back on computer time too.”  

The whole thing feels too preachy to me. “Turn off TV and turn on life“?  I’m sure Up-With-People is going to bust down my door any minute now!  

And I think we’re cheating anyway, because my trusty TiVo will grab Survivor and Deadliest Catch for us and we’ll catch up on them later!  It’s like it’s Lent again and like all Catholics I’m thinking “what can I give up that I really won’t miss much, and how can I word it this a way that lets me still feel like I’m being good without making any real scarifice?”

Is TV a modern necessity? No, but it does take the edge off the day in a way that a 2 hour game of Hi-Ho! Cherry-O can’t!

On the up-side, this weekend I played baseball and rode bikes with my kids, went to Athena’s play (Doo-Wop Wed Widing Hood) and Orion’s hockey game, so I don’t feel so bad about myself!

(And no, the irony of me writing this post at 11:00 at night on a Sunday is not lost on me).

~ by brianherman on April 20, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
